Differences between Batch Update/Delete and Batch Transitioning

By Elden posted 05-29-2015 00:06

  
At first glance, it can be difficult to tell the difference between the Batch Update/Delete and Batch Transition functions of Jama. The purpose of this article is to explain the differences between the two features and when to choose one or the other.


Batch Update/Delete:
In versions of Jama prior to 2015.1, there was a menu option to Batch Update/Delete. In Jama 2015.1, those menu options have been separated and renamed Edit and Delete.
 
Jama 2014.2 and prior:

 
Jama 2015.1 and later:


The Batch Update/Delete, Edit and Delete menu options give you the ability to update one or more Items' non-Rich Text values and add Tags at the same time, after which the list automatically updates. For instance, you can select a list of Requirements and set the assigned user to ‘unassigned,’ or change the priority to ‘low.’ This process works for any type of field except Rich Text values unless a field is tied to a workflow. If a field is tied to a workflow, it will not appear as one of the editable fields.
 
For the rest of this article, screenshots shown will be from Jama 2015.1. As an example of how to edit multiple items in Jama 2015.1 and later, select four items in the list view where you would like to change the assigned user and the release.


 
Select Actions > Edit.


 
This opens the Batch Update window. Since all of the items are of the same type, you can select either All Selected Items or Selected Requirements. You would choose Selected Requirements if you had selected a mix of Item Types like Requirements, Use Cases and Test Cases to limit your changes to items of the Requirements Item Type. Select Next.
 

 
Select which fields to edit and what values you would like to assign. In this example, you are setting the Assigned and the Release fields. Select Next.


 
You are asked whether you want to notify anyone of the changes. Select Next.

Now, when you look at the list view, you can see that all four of the items you selected are assigned to one user and Release has been set to 3.0.




Batch Transition:
Batch Transition gives you the ability to transition multiple items through the steps of a workflow. Suppose you have enabled workflows in a project for the Status field of the Item Type Requirements. Now you want to set the Status of a list of Requirements to "Approved.’ 
 
The process of performing a Batch Transition looks very similar to editing multiple items. First, you select the items in the list view you want to transition and select Actions > Batch Transition. 


 
This opens the Batch Transition Workflow window. Since all of the items are of the same type, you can select either All Selected Items or Selected Requirements. You would choose Selected Requirements if you had selected a mix of Item Types like Requirements, Use Cases and Test Cases to limit your changes to items of the Requirements Item Type. You also select the status to which you are transitioning the items. In this example, you are transitioning the items to 'Approved.'* 

Add a comment if you like and select Commit.


 
Now, when you look at the list view, you see all of the selected items have been transitioned from ‘Draft’ to ‘Approved.’
 

 

*NOTE: All of the items you are transitioning must begin in the same workflow state such as 'Draft' or 'Approved.' Also, you cannot Batch Transition items to a status that is disallowed for your workflow. For example, if items in your workflow have no transitions defined once the status has reached ‘Completed,’ you cannot Batch Transition ‘Completed’ items to ‘Approved’ because that is disallowed by your workflow.  If you try to Batch Transition items that did not begin in the same workflow state, or items that have no further transitions defined in your workflow, you will see something like this:



#requirementsmanagement
2 comments
144 views

Comments

07-19-2016 12:57

That's a good point, Ian. I don't think this is behavior we are planning to change, however.

07-18-2016 18:10

It would be nice to not have the list view refresh to page 1 upon a batch transition.  If I'm editing items on page 5, I have to manually switch to page 5 after the transition to keep my position.  My scenario is that I'm walking sequentially through specs to update them in list view.