Knowledge Base

Managing Locked Items in Jama Connect

By Erin posted 06-16-2021 17:11

  

Managing Locked Items in Jama Connect

There are two types of locks in Jama Connect: system locks and user locks. This article will help you understand the difference between the two and best practices for managing them – and what to do if you’re unknowingly the owner of a user-locked item!

 As a best practice, enabling the “locked” field as a visible field in the list view will allow you to quickly identify items that are locked and give you a nice visual indicator as to why they might be locked. Blue lock icons indicate that the item(s) are locked by the system because of a workflow transition, yellow lock icons indicate that the item(s) are locked by a user.

87e7721b-6329-4ba0-89d5-c60401b39221

Figure 1 Enabling the Locked Field to Display System and User Locked Items


Also, while in the list view you’ll notice that “system” displays when you hover your mouse over the blue lock icon, and the name of the user who has the item locked displays when you hover your mouse over the yellow icon. Read on to learn how to manage locked items!

System Locked Items

Leveraging Jama Connect to automatically lock items upon transition to a given state helps teams prevent unwanted changes. Workflows are applied to item types by Organization or Process Administrators who want to dictate the approval path and the subsequent locking behavior of each item type. In the example below, you’ll see that our item is configured to be unlocked when transitioned to the status “Draft” and “Review” and locked when transitioned to the status “Accepted”.

7db544dd-214c-480a-844b-ffd35810f4d7 Figure 2 Using Workflow to Lock Items on Status Transition

What happens when you come across an item that is locked by the system and you need to have the item unlocked? Contact your Organization, Project, or Process Administrator. These items may become unlocked if they are transitioned to a new status that is configured to unlock the item (back to “Draft” in my example above) or your Organization or Project Administrator who can choose to manually override the lock in the project.

User Locked Items

Prevent unwanted changes to work-in-progress from the single item view.