FAQ for Synchronize Items

By Kimberly posted 22 days ago


Can I synchronize containers?

Yes. You can synchronize projects, components, sets, folders, or items.


Can I synchronize widgets?

Yes. You can synchronize the most relevant widgets including tags, links, and attachments. However, synchronization for widgets needs to be enabled by the administrator, by item type. See Add and Configure an item type for more information.

Note: Attachment links are synchronized, not attachment content.


Can I synchronize relationships?

Yes. You can synchronize one level of relationships.


Can I synchronize from one to many projects or items?

Yes. If you do not need to synchronize item by item, you can use the Sync All functionality in the Sync Items window. If you need to view and sync detailed items, batch synchronization is not supported. In this case, you will have to initiate one to one synchronizations.


Why can't I see the upstream item in the Sync items Wizard?

There is no longer a concept of upstream or downstream in synchronization. Synchronized items will share the same Global ID and utilize the same behavior. No single item is marked or identified as the upstream (the original or parent item) which allows for more flexibility and scalability in synchronization.


How do I see which items are synced?

You can see which items are synchronized and whether they are in- or out-of-sync in both the single item view synchronization widget and the sync items wizard. There is also a blue dot in the bottom right-hand corner of all synchronized items in the explorer tree.


How do I compare synced projects, components, sets, folders, and items?

You can see which items are synchronized and whether they are in- or out-of-sync in both the single item view synchronization widget and the Sync items Wizard.


Can I save a comparison view?

Yes, you can configure a comparison view and save this view. You can also apply specific synchronization options (rules) to the view.


What is a reuse rule?

A reuse rule allows you to reuse not only specific items, but also items related to your primary selection. You can also select which fields will be copied to the new item (fields not selected will use default values).

Example: copy a requirement and all of its downstream test cases but not the downstream bugs.


What is the little blue dot on items in my tree?

The blue dot is a quick visual indicator that shows which components, sets, folders, and items have been synchronized.


What does the "Reuse source project hierarchy in destination project" in reuse mean?

You can now select "Reuse source project hierarchy in destination project" as part of the reuse process. This option will reuse all of the hierarchy of the source project (including components, sets and folders) and copy that over to the destination project.


Can I reuse an item and its relationships?

Yes. You can now reuse an item and its related items in one step.


What are "sync options"?

Sync options allow you to create and apply rules for how synchronization should work which includes the option to synchronize relationships or widgets of an item. There are also advanced sync options that allow a user to apply reuse options in a target location.

Example Sync Option: When synchronizing requirements also synchronize only the downstream defects.


What is a Global ID?

The Global ID is a universal identifier. The Global ID is the mechanism that Jama uses for linking items together so that they can be compared and synchronized.


Do Synchronization Changes Trigger Suspect Links?



What happens to a synchronized item when I convert it to another item type?

When you convert a synchronized item to different item type, such as converting a Requirement to a Feature Request, the item will lose its synchronization and will receive a new Global ID.


How Do I Prevent Users From Synchronizing items?

Users can only make changes to items they have Write permissions to. They cannot modify items through synchronization that have a user lock or a system lock either.


Can I Prevent an item in my project from being updated via synchronization?

The only way to limit synchronization is to limit permissions.