Items can be locked in different ways:
- A user can lock their own items. Also, items are automatically locked while being edited.
- Items can be locked by other users.
- Items can be locked by workflow, also called a system lock.
All Locked items show a Lock
icon in the item's view. It is also possible to know who locked the item by hovering the mouse over the Edit
option will be greyed out for items locked by other users and by workflow (system).
If the List View is configured to show the Locked
field, the Lock
icon will also be visible from the List View. This field can be added through the List View's configuration menu (cog icon). A yellow Lock
means that the lock was done by a user, and a blue Lock
means that the lock was caused by Workflow.
An Item locked by a user can only be edited by that user though it can be unlocked either by the user or an Administrator. The user can unlock it through Actions > Unlock Item
Just like the Edit
options, the Unlock Item
option will be greyed out for items locked by other users or by workflow.
Users can see a list of all items they have locked in their User Profile > My Locked Items
They can also unlock the items here.
In their User Profile, Administrators also have the My Locked Items
tab. Additionally, they can see items locked by other users by selecting Show All Locked Items
(this option is not available for regular users) and they can unlock them.
Administrators also see items locked by Workflow, and can unlock them through the System Locked Items
tab available in their profile view.
It is also possible to batch unlock items from these views by using the Shift
key to select a group of items and then selecting Unlock