Support

Expand all | Collapse all

Does closing browser = log out??

  • 1.  Does closing browser = log out??

    Posted 05-07-2019 11:43

    I'm wondering whether when a user closes their browser, does it effectively log them out of Jama and free up the licenes, or is hte license only released after the inactivity time out?
    Thanks

    Wayne



    ------------------------------
    Wayne Bell
    IDEXX
    Westbrook ME
    2076329771
    ------------------------------


  • 2.  RE: Does closing browser = log out??

    Posted 05-07-2019 14:07
    Hi Wayne!

    They will need to officially log off to free up a license.

    Cheers!

    ------------------------------
    Chloe Elliott
    Jama Software
    Portland OR
    ------------------------------



  • 3.  RE: Does closing browser = log out??

    Posted 05-07-2019 14:20
    Hello Wayne,

    Echoing what Chloe mentioned, when a Jama user closes a browser window without logging out, the license is not freed up. The reason for this is because it is hard for Jama to "know" when a user has closed the browser so the license is not freed right away. This is usually an issue for Creator(float) licenses because they are shared with other Creator(float) users.

    There are a couple different ways to avoid this problem.

    1. Instruct users to log out of Jama when they are done rather than close the browser
    2. Shorten the Session timeout timer.
    • Hosted customers will need to put in a Support ticket to change their Session timer
    • Self-hosted customers can do this by logging into Jama as the root user, going to System Properties tab, and changing the Session timeout timer at the top left


    ------------------------------
    Giselle Northy
    Jama
    ------------------------------