Product Idea

Expand all | Collapse all

Disable a poosibility to automatically create account under SSO

  • 1.  Disable a poosibility to automatically create account under SSO

    Posted 03-16-2020 03:08
    Hello Jama,
    We need to disable automatic creation of accounts when
    • user logins for the first time, and
    • user's account does not exist in user base, and
    • SSO login is used.

    The problem that we face is:
    • The username for automatically created account contains email address instead of user ID that is used for our instance to uniquely identify users (email can change):
    • First and last name are not filled in (but they cannot be empty)
    • License type is 30 day trial (instead of creator float)
    • User is not properly assigned to read only group for all projects

    The only possibility how to fix it is to go through the REST API because username cannot be changed via Admin interface and then assign all other attributes properly.

    Please disable automatic creation of user accounts when user account does not exist in Jama and SSO is used (of add a possibility to switch it off via Jama configuration).

    Thank you for making our live easier

    ------------------------------
    Vlada
    ------------------------------


  • 2.  RE: Disable a poosibility to automatically create account under SSO

    Posted 03-18-2020 13:30
    Thanks Vlada:

    I gave this an "Admin" product tag and changed this thread into a Product Idea.

    Best,

    ------------------------------
    Chloe Elliott
    Jama Software
    Portland OR
    ------------------------------



  • 3.  RE: Disable a poosibility to automatically create account under SSO

    Posted 03-25-2020 00:35
    Hello Jama Team,
    There is another problem with automatically created accounts.

    A new account is created although the same user (same email address) already exists but the original account is inactive.

    This is really no acceptable as users are "duplicated" in database and it is not clear how to treated to keep history of changes done by the user under the original account and newly create one. It's not possible to easy recognize that the change was done by the same user.

    Please pay attention to this problem and allow to switch it off as soon as possible.

    Thank you

    ------------------------------
    Vlada
    ------------------------------